Pepsi’s NEBL All-Star Starters Announced

by Karim Juan, Commissioner

San Ignacio Town

Monday, March 12, 2018


The Pepsi National Elite Basketball League (NEBL) will be hosting its fourth annual All-Star Night on Saturday, March 24 at the Orange Walk Multi-Purpose Complex in Orange Walk Town.  The activities will commence at 7:30 p.m. with the Old Master Fine Rums Three Point Shootout, followed by the ASR Group-Belize Sugar Slam Dunk Contest at 8:30 p.m.  The three-point shootout will feature two players from each of the 7 teams, while the Slam Dunk Contest will be open to as many participants.  In the nightcap, we will be having the Smart All-Star game.  The Smart All-Star Game will see the Imports team up with the Belizean Americans to form one team to challenge our local All Stars.   Players on the Imports/Belizean American squad are listed below.



Daniel Conorque – Griga Dream Ballers

Isaiah Thomas – Verdes

Jihad Wright – San Pedro Tiger Sharks

Leon Jabob – Belmopan Bandits



James Ewing  – Orange Walk Running Rebels

Rassi Jenkins – DigiCell Belize City Defenders

Nigel Jones – DigiCell Belize City Defenders

Luther Page – Belmopan Bandits

Tahj Wells – Griga Dream Ballers

Martevuius Adams – San Pedro Tiger Sharks

Tyson Reynold – Smart Belize Hurricanes


The starting five for the local All Star team was selected via fan votes on Facebook.  The starting guards for the local team are Akeem Watters (421 FB likes) from Smart Belize Hurricanes and Elvis Usher Jr. (379) from Verdes.  Akeem Watters was the top vote getter on Facebook.  The starting big men are Kurt “Chengo” Burgess (370) from Smart Belize Hurricanes, Macario Augustine (357) from Griga Dream Ballers and Brandon Flowers (295) from Griga Dream Ballers.

The remaining seven reserves will be selected by the team managers and the media. The local All-Star reserves will be announced on Thursday, March 15.  Last year the imports and Belizean Americans defeated the local team in a nail-biter, 76 – 74.